Kawasaki Kips Owners

FORUM FOR ALL GENERATION OF KAWASAKI KIPS

Newbie alert

joshyip

Newbie alert

Post by joshyip on Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:47 pm

Hi all...

i'm a newbie to the biking scene. just got my kips last week. love the bike! though still confined to my housing area Smile a few questions. i am a huge fan of big tires and would love to change to a 130 or something. any recommendations? any good shops around the pj/kl area? Wink n i won't have to change the rims right?

thanks a million.

asrolsani

Re: Newbie alert

Post by asrolsani on Tue Apr 19, 2011 9:44 pm

welcome bro...
    for kips, standard size the best... bigger heavier, slower and more fuel

gammafiber

Post by gammafiber on Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:42 pm

bigger looks nicer, superbike wannabe..

120.70 for rear, tried 130.70 only good for h/way, bad for cornering..

joshyip

Post by joshyip on Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:47 am

Smile yup.. that was exactly wat i had in mind. bigger for a more 'superbike' wannabe. was thinking of a 130/70. wat do u mean 'bad for connering' ? care to explain?

gammafiber

Post by gammafiber on Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:45 am

from my experience, not a big deal untill you befrinded some friends that took you trips

to genting ect. Then I realize the angle of the tyres has deform, imposible to lean to the max.

But on daily basis its okay, looks good from the side and rear. Im changing my tyres soon,

you can swap mine to get the feel of it.

alldisc

Post by alldisc on Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:14 pm

hi the reason why big tyres will make cornering poorer is easy to note.

imagine small bike with 1.60 inch width wheels. install 80/90 tyre, it will fit just nice.
    install 90/80 tyre will make it look bigger but the extra width will make the tyre 'rounds' more as the wheel width remains the same. to offset that, change to wider wheels, example 1.85".