Kawasaki Kips Owners

FORUM FOR ALL GENERATION OF KAWASAKI KIPS

Getting Kips in BKK

zorgitron

Getting Kips in BKK

Post by zorgitron on Sat Oct 20, 2012 3:41 pm

Hi everybody!

I am new and looking at getting a cheap Kips 150 in working condition. I found one for a good price and rode it around a little bit yesterday. I'm looking for a cheap bike, in working shape, that I can enjoy owning, but also not worry about too much. I see lots of these KRs running around. Some are loaded with farming stuff and look like they're barely running, and others are in really nice, sporty condition. I don't know if I'll use it daily, but I'd just like to keep it stock, clean it up a bit, and use it for running some errands and cruising around to relieve some stress. Traffic in BKK can be horrendous, and I know this is not the BEST bike for it, but certainly more stylish than a Wave.

This will be my first time having a 2T bike, but I have some experience with 4 strokers, especially with small Honda horizontal engines. I can overhaul one of those engines in 3 hours with hand tools. I've installed transmissions, pistons, crankshafts, oil pumps, etc. I would like to do work on my bike myself, but without any tools, and the low prices of shop labor here, I might not at first.

The condition of the KR seemed kind of rough, but maybe it's mostly just by looks. The plastic was scratched up and cracked, light rust, some of the fairing is missing, etc.

However, there were very few loose parts, not any serious rust, and the engine ran smoothly as far as I could tell. Riding it down the street, it was slow but okay in the lower revs, and got very exciting and quick up top. I guess this is how 2T is! Fun stuff!

Mileage: about 35,000 kilometers

Potential problems:
    -Gear shifter was loose, see the picture. It still worked and went through the gears. I don't know if the splines might be stripped